Flygbild över Åsnen - många öar i klarblått vatten.

New and Expanded National Parks

Work is currently under way to create two new national parks:

  • Åsnen in Kronoberg County
  • Vålådalen/Sylarna/Helags in Jämtland County

Work on a further three areas will begin during the year with the aim of adding to the existing 29 national parks. The three planned areas are:

  • Nämdöskärgården in Stockholm County
  • Bästeträsk on Gotland
  • Reivo in Norrbotten County

Work is also under way to expand a number of existing national parks. The two existing national parks which are set to be enlarged are Björnlandet and Tiveden. The Swedish Parliament and Government are responsible for approving the creation of new national parks and the expansion of existing parks. In partnership with the county administrative boards, the Swedish Environmental Protection Agency is responsible for providing supporting information for decisions and for planning the national parks.

The new national park in Åsnen

The first new national park to be created will be Åsnen National Park – an area which represents the lowland plains of Southern Sweden. In this region, you can experience untouched and wilderness-like forest and coastal landscapes with a rich diversity of plant and animal life.

Åsnen is situated in the municipalities of Alvesta and Tingsryd and on the boundary of Växjö municipality. The national park will cover the Bjurkärr, Trollberget, Toftåsa mire and Västra Åsnen archipelago nature reserves. A number of neighbouring areas will also be included in order to provide a contiguous area and create space for visitor sites and hiking trails.

Åsnen National Park is expected to be established during 2017.